Demo - Create marker with custom labels in Google Maps API v3

Explore Town


Visitor Centre:
Onslow Visitor Centre
Second Avenue
Phone: 08 9184 6644
Fax: 08 9184 6644
Visitor website:
Originally, the town was located near the former mouth of the Ashburton River. It was abandoned in about 1925 and moved to its present site at Beadon Bay. During WWII, Onslow became an allied naval base and Japanese aircraft bombed the town in 1943.

The town is small but busy and supports an excellent prawning and fishing industry, pearling and off-shore oil exploration. A Solar salt field has been constructed on tidal salt flats surrounding the town. The 1.3km jetty, 3.5km conveyor belt and stacker equipment provide spectacular viewing when lit up at night.
Goods Shed Museum

This historic building originally came from the old Onlsow town-site and contains historic artefacts from Onslow’s long and extensive history. Information is available on tourist attractions in the area along with displays of local crafts and souvenirs.

The Old Town Site

All that remains are the old stone buildings - Police Station, Gaol and cemetery, etc.

Beadon Creek and The Groyne

Wharf area for Onslow’s fishing fleet and popular fishing spot and public boat ramp.

Beadon Point

Onslow has two lookouts which provide wonderful views of the ocean.

Four Mile Creek

10kms from town. Excellent fishing/swimming spot.

Termite Viewing Area

10kms from town, you’ll find the viewing area for this amazing city of ants.

Ashburton River

5 Mile Pool is an attractive picnic area located along the road to Old Onslow.