Demo - Create marker with custom labels in Google Maps API v3

Explore Town

Menzies

Visitor Centre:
Menzies Shire
Phone: 08 9024 2041
Visitor website: www.menzies.wa.gov.au
General:
The town features some wonderful historic buildings in the main street, including the Town Hall and Clock Tower, the original Menzies Hotel and the restored former Lady Shenton Hotel. General store, basic items available also a recently opened cafe.
History:
Gold was discovered in 1894 by L.R. Menzies. The railway line to Kalgoorlie was opened in 1898. At this time the town boasted 13 hotels, 3 banks, 3 breweries, cordial factories, a school, library and 4 churches. By 1910 the population had dwindled from approximately 5000 to below 1,000. Today, Menzies is home to around 70 people.
Attractions:
History & Heritage Brochure
“Our Place” Menzies, exploring and interpreting the heritage of Menzies. Pick up a brochure from the Visitor Centre and discover the people and the places that made Menzies a major mining town 100 years ago.
While in Menzies check out the new Aboriginal Heritage Walk Trail in Menzies, Gubbie Wongi “Our Way”.
“Former” Lady
Shenton Hotel
It operated as a hotel in its current location from 1902 until 1922. Today this is home to the: Community Resource Centre, including Visitor Centre, Community Post Agent, Internet Access, Menzies History Collection and library.
Menzies Caravan Park
Newly upgraded and conveniently located adjacent to the Visitors Centre. Wheel Chair access, Campers kitchen, concrete bays, 30ft Motor Home & RV sites and a Black Water Dump Point.
Lake Ballard
The iconic “Inside Australia” exhibition was commissioned to celebrate The Perth International Arts Festival in 2003. It is situated 50 kms west of Menzies on a salt lake. The 51 sculptures scattered over its 10 sq km surface are taken from laser scans of Menzies residents with the exception of a few passers-by.
Cemetery
Significant for the distinctive goldfields examples of metal grave monuments specific to Menzies between 1900 and 1939.
Niagara Dam
Constructed by the Railways Department in 1897-98 to provide water for the steam locomotives. For the last 100 years this little oasis has been a great camping, picnic and swimming spot.
Railway Station
Built in 1898, it operated as a bustling railway station with daily passenger services to Kalgoorlie.