Demo - Create marker with custom labels in Google Maps API v3

Explore Town

Leonora

Visitor Centre:
Leonora Rural Transaction Centre
Tower Street
Phone: 08 9037 7210
Fax: 08 9037 7133
Visitor website: www.leonora.wa.gov.au
General:
Leonora today continues as a service centre to the mining and pastoral industry.
With its wide main street and many historic buildings it still exhibits the character of the past while providing modern facilities and services.
History:
In 1869 explorer John Forrest and party, in search of the lost Leichardt Expedition, made camp near a hill and named it Mount Leonora. Twenty five years on, prospectors moved through the area and by 1896 mining claims were pegged and gold discovered, leading to the establishment of the twin towns of Leonora and Gwalia, along with the smaller town of Malcolm. A railway link from Kalgoorlie opened in June 1902 and still operates today.
Leonora became the largest centre on the North Eastern Goldfields and by 1908 boasted 7 hotels, general stores, chemists, tailors and bakeries. Mining has continued until the present day with gold, and now nickel, being produced in large quantities. The township of Leonora lies 230km north of Kalgoorlie.
Attractions:
Gwalia Historical Precinct and Museum

Gwalia is a ghost town although still home for some old and new residents. The old store, guesthouse and many other cottages can be viewed first hand. The State Hotel is now a mining company office. The museum provides fascinating displays of early history and lifestyle.
Highlights are

Historic Hoover House

The Old Oregon Headframe

The Steam Winding Engine

Little Miners Cottages

“Ken” the Locomotive