Menzies Visitor Centre
Phone: 08 9024 2702
Today, the town, commonly referred to as a ghost town, provides for the many tourists, prospectors, fossickers, miners, pastoralists and the local population of 13. The Grand Hotel which provides accommodation and meals, The Old Miners Cottage, old shops and the ruins of The Cosmopolitan Hotel are all that remain of Kooynie’s grand past.
First discovered by prospectors in 1895. In 1907 it could boast; A population of 3,500, 11 hotels, the first public swimming baths on the Goldfields, a brewery and 2 cordial and soft drink factories as well as many other business houses, churches with no less than 7 brass bands.