Demo - Create marker with custom labels in Google Maps API v3

Explore Town


Visitor Centre:
Kojonup Kodja Place Visitor and Interpretive Centre
143 Albany Highway
Phone: (08) 9831 0500
Fax: (08) 9831 0300
Visitor website:
Historic Kojonup is more than just a gateway to the beautiful South. Spend an idyllic, indulgent getaway exploring the countryside, or bushwalking, discover the rich diversity of orchids and wildflowers in season.
The town’s long and proud history, stretches back centuries to when nomadic Aborigines were first attracted to the area by a fresh water spring and abundance of game. Europeans first settled in 1837 as a military outpost with the Military Barracks, built in 1845.
The name Kojonup has historical significance, referring to the “Kodja’ or stone axe made by the Aborigines from the local stone.
The Kodja Place (pronounced Koitch)
Is a fascinating window through which the many paths that have led to the vigorous and vital district can be seen.
The Kodj Gallery: A journey from traditional times with the Six Seasons mural with floor imprints of native animals to the present.
The Story Place: Creative and interactive displays immerse the viewer in the culture of Kojonup powerfully showing the harsh realities of life for both Noongar and Wadjela.
The Australian Rose Maze:
Stop and smell the roses. Enjoy the magnificence and diversity in colour and perfume of the Australian bred heritage roses that form the wide pathways, with the three women’s storylines woven through the Maze reminding us of the courage of these people.
Yoondi’s Mia Mia: The Noongar people invite you to immerse yourself in traditional culture - learn of their spiritual connections with country.
AW Potts & Kokoda Track Memorial
Brigadier AW Potts surveying ‘the lie of the land’ honouring the memory of all those who served on the Kokoda Track.
The Old Military Barracks
The Barracks the oldest military building still standing in WA, constructed from felled timber in 1830’s and 1845 in stone.
Elverd Cottage
This is Kojonup’s main historical building, dated 1854, the only surviving Pensioner Guard cottage in Australia, with its collection of farming equipment including a fine Heritage Harness Display.