Demo - Create marker with custom labels in Google Maps API v3

Explore Town


Visitor Centre:
Kalgoorlie-Goldfields Visitor Centre
Hannan Street
Phone: 1800 00 4653
Fax: (08) 9021 2180
Visitor website:
Kalgoorlie Boulder
The ultimate melting pot of history, culture, architecture, fun and adventure; the city traces its origin to one of the most significant gold strikes in Australia made by Paddy Hannan. What followed was classic ‘gold fever’ with thousands of hopefuls streaming to the Goldfields in search of their fortune.
A leisurely stroll down Hannan Street serves as a rich reminder of this golden era with many of the original buildings still standing and totally functional after more than 100 years. Housing an array of retail shops, restaurants, cafes, hotels and pubs, these majestic old buildings offer visitors a chance to step back in time and feel the pulse and buzz of what was once (and still is) one of the most vibrant outback cities in Australia.
Attractions such as the WA Museum Kalgoorlie Boulder and the world Hannan’s North Tourist Mine carry vivid reminders of early Goldfields life, whilst the Kalgoorlie Consolidated Gold Mines (KCGM) ‘Super Pit’ provides a breathtakingly larger-than-life experience of one of today’s biggest working open cast mines in the southern hemisphere.
Gold was discovered in Southern Cross in 1887. Five years later, news of a rush at Mt Youle resulted in three Irish prospectors, Paddy Hannan, Thomas Flanagan and Daniel Shea, setting off from Coolgardie in June 1893 to explore the area to the east. At a point some 25 miles to the east, one of the horses lost a shoe and the group was forced to camp for the night at the foot of what is today called Mt Charlotte (at the top of Hannan Street). It was here they were surprised to find a few good nuggets and, on June 17, Paddy Hannan rode into Coolgardie with about 100 ounces of gold to register his Reward Claim.

Discovery of gold deposits located some 5kms to the south led to the discovery of the world famous ‘Golden Mile’, the richest square mile of gold bearing ore in the world. This triggered one of the biggest gold rushes in Australia’s history.

Men came in their thousands, many unprepared for the harsh conditions they encountered with inadequate food and scarcity of water. There was no sanitation and few medical supplies. Thousands died from thirst or disease contracted from drinking contaminated water. Nevertheless stories of fame and fortune spread rapidly and within a few short years 93 hotels and 8 breweries had been established for a population which had swollen to over 30,000.

Water shortages were finally relieved in 1903 through the genius of the State’s Chief Engineer C. Y. O’Connor. The establishment of a water pipeline, from Mundaring Weir in Perth, over some 563kms to the Goldfields, ensured that the city prospered.

Since then the fascinating history of the Goldfields continues with stories of success, entertainment and ‘ladies of the night’.
Kalgoorlie Town Hall
Impressive Edwardian-styled building completed in 1908 with intricate stamped metal ceilings, chandeliers, a sweeping staircase, majestic theatre and an extensive collection of art and memorabilia upstairs and in the council chambers. The Kalgoorlie Town Hall is home to the Kalgoorlie-Boulder Pure Gold Visitor Centre and the Sporting Hall of Fame.
The Goldfields War Museum and Local History Archives are temporarily located in the Kalgoorlie Town Hall. For current location and operating hours please contact the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder (08) 9021 9600 or (08) 9093 1087 or the Kalgoorlie Boulder Pure Gold Visitor Centre on
(08) 9021 1966.
Paddy Hannan’s Statue
Have a drink from Paddy’s water bag and take your photo alongside the life-sized replica bronze statue of the first man to discover gold in Kalgoorlie. Located corner Hannan and Wilson Streets, Kalgoorlie.
Bush 2-Up
Kalgoorlie boasts one of Australia’s only legalised bush 2-up school which is still in operation on certain days. The fascinating original corrugated iron shack and bush ring is located at the
end of a dirt track on the
city’s outskirts.
Hay Street
Take a stroll or drive, night time is best, down Kalgoorlie’s notorious red light district and see one of the few remaining ‘starting stalls’ which is still open for business.
Hammond Park
A tranquil parkland which is a haven for a wide variety of bird life, including peacocks. Next door is a sanctuary for kangaroos and emus. It is estimated that 40,000 local gemstones form part of the unique miniature Bavarian Castle constructed in the park in 1976. Ideal picnic spot with playground and café open every day. Located Lyall Street, Kalgoorlie. Open daily 9am - 5pm.
WA School of Mines’ Mineral Museum
The museum’s exhibits comprise some 3,000 mineral and ore specimens, fascinating replica gold nuggets and nickel ores, including a replica of the state’s richest gold nugget ‘The Golden Eagle’, discovered in 1931 near Coolgardie and weighing an incredible 32,177grams. Located corner Cassidy and McDonald Streets, Kalgoorlie. Open Mon - Fri 8:30am-12:30pm. Closed school and public holidays. Entry is free.