Fishing is a favourite pastime of local residents and tourists alike. Cray fishermen continue to enjoy good catches of the world acclaimed Western Rock Lobster, also other fish such as snapper, dhufish, cod and tailor, make Port Denison an anglers delight.
Fully restored by local volunteers with financial assistance from the WA Heritage Council. Visitors can see a variety of local art and crafts as well as a museum housed in the cells and adjoining area.
Being restored, it is probably the most significant tourist attraction in Dongara. It was built about 1894 from the plans of Mr Henry Simon of Manchester, England. Its sturdy steam engines ground wheat from surrounding farms until 1935.
Situated near Leander Point, it is the only one remaining of two obelisks built in 1869. From the look out there is a panoramic view of Port Denison and the harbour.
It contains some interesting headstones dating back to 1874. It also contains a wall of remembrance dedicated to the Dominican nuns of the region.
Overlooking the Irwin River along the beaches to the marina on the south side of the river-mouth. There are now walk trails and a wonderful boardwalk across the river leading out to the river mouth and a bird hide.
From the Old Mill to Priory Lodge provides much of historical interest to visitors. It takes in 17 heritage listed buildings. Pick up a brochure from the visitor centre for a donation of $1.00.